Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities Announces 2018 Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Daniel Bosworth

Kacey Haney

Gabriel Liberatore

Molly Ptacek

CLEVELAND – Daniel Bosworth, Kasey Haney, Gabriel Liberatore and Molly Ptacek have been named recipients of the 2018 Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities (CTCC) Memorial Scholarship, the organization announced on July 12 at its annual Gene Hickerson Memorial Golf Outing.

The CTCC Memorial Scholarships are awarded annually to four graduating high school seniors who excel in the classroom, in the community and possess a strong ambition to succeed in college. Each individual will receive a $1,000 scholarship to use at an accredited college or university of their choice during the 2018-19 academic year.

Bosworth, graduated from Notre Dame-Cathedral Latin High School with a 3.76 GPA, is the recipient of the John Peyton Memorial Scholarship. He was an active supporter of athletics throughout high school, serving as a team manager for football and basketball, was a statistician and videographer for basketball and was the director of youth camp operations. He will major in accounting, with a minor in sports management, at Miami (Ohio) University.

Haney, the recipient of the Morrie Kono Memorial Scholarship, is a graduate of Marion L. Steele High School, posting a 3.23 GPA. She was an athletic aide in the Medical Health Technology program, supporting many of the school’s athletics programs to the tune of 150-plus volunteer hours. She plans to study public health at Kent State University.

Liberatore was named the recipient of the Billy Reynolds Memorial Scholarship. He is a graduate of Cleveland Saint Ignatius High School with a 3.40 GPA. He was extremely active in his support of athletics, serving as a varsity basketball manager and statistician, a baseball broadcaster for the Saint Ignatius Broadcast Network and a student athletic trainer for rugby and lacrosse. He will study nursing at the University of Cincinnati.

Ptacek, a graduate of Avon High School with a 4.05 GPA, was awarded the Dick Zunt Memorial Scholarship. She was very active in both athletic and non-athletic activities. In addition to being a member of the cross country and track teams, she excelled in the field of media as a member of the Eagle News Network and through her promotional videos and short films. She will study media production at Columbia College Chicago this fall.

This year’s scholarships are presented in honor of four gentlemen who have a rich history in Northeast Ohio football – Morrie Kono, John Peyton, Billy Reynolds and Dick Zunt. More information on all four individuals can be found on the Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities website.