Usama Young, Dri Archer, Mitch Trubisky top Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities' 2013 honorees

2/28/2013 - BEREA, Ohio - Browns defensive back Usama Young, Kent State running back Dri Archer and Mentor quarterback Mitch Trubisky headline this year's Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities award winners.

Young was chosen to receive the Doug Dieken Humanitarian Award, Archer is the Joe Fogg Memorial Award winner and Trubisky was named as the Lou Groza Most Valuable Scholastics Player.

The award banquet is March 9 at Baldwin Wallace University's Strosacker Hall in Berea. The event starts at 5 with a social hour, followed by dinner and the award program running from 7-9 p.m.

Former Ohio State coach Jim Tressel will be the keynote speaker. Master of ceremonies is sports radio personality Kenny Roda of WKNR.

Tickets are $40 for adults and $20 for children under 11. They can be purchased by calling Lou Carouse at 440-526-4963 or online.

2012-13 Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities award winners


Doug Dieken Humanitarian Award: Usama Young, Browns defensive back.

CTCC Cleveland Browns Alumni Award: Jamie Caleb.


Joe Fogg Memorial Award: Dri Archer, Kent State running back.

Life Membership Award: Sam Rutigliano, former Browns coach.

Billy Reynolds Community Service Award: Ryan Devins, Berea Lou Groza Football League.

Bobby Brown's Officials Award: Ray Andrews and Ken Smith.

Northeast Ohio College Coach Service Award: the late Bill Gutbrod, Villa Angela-St. Joseph; Jim Ryan, Olmsted Falls; and Byron Morgan, Notre Dame-Cathedral Latin.

Lou Groza Most Valuable Scholastics Player Award: Mitch Trubisky, Mentor quarterback.

Chuck Heaton Hometown College Award: Shaker Heights' Perez Ashford, Northern Illinois wide receiver.

Dr. Lee and Eloise Tressel Award: Mitch Hewitt, Chardon.

Co-Dick Zunt and Bill Nichols Memorial Award: Ryan Fallon, St. Edward quarterback, and Travis Tarnowski, North Royalton quarterback.

Pat O'Brien High School Student Service Award: Tim McVey, St. Ignatius running back.

CTCC President's Achievement Award: Nick Driskill, Mount Union defensive back.


CTCC Offensive Player of Year: Kareem Hunt, Willoughby South running back.

CTCC Defensive Player of the Year: Tracy Sprinkle, Elyria defensive end.

President's High School Special Teams Player Award: Mike Muzic, Mentor place-kicker.

County Awards


Offensive Player of the Year: Tommy Iammarino (QB, Chagrin Falls).

Defensive Player of the Year: Domenic Abounader (DB, St. Edward).

Co-Coach of the Year: Nick Ciulli (North Royalton) and Rodney Decipeda (John Hay).

Summit and Portage

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Tra'Von Chapman (QB, Kent Roosevelt) and Gary Strain (RB, Mogadore).

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Dante Booker (LB, St. Vincent-St. Mary) and Zach Smierciak (LB, Aurora).

Coach of the Year: Dan Boarman, St. Vincent-St. Mary.


Offensive Player of the Year: Keith Yohman (RB, Brunswick).

Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Winkler (LB, Wadsworth).

Coach of the Year: Luke Beal, Brunswick.

Lake and Geauga

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Damon Washington (RB, Kirtland) and Brandon Fritts (WR, Mentor).

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Cannon Schroeder (DT, Kirtland) and John Stepec (DL, Lake Catholic).

Co-Coach of the Year: Steve Trivisonno (Mentor) and Tiger LaVerde (Kirtland).


Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Cody Callaway (QB, Midview) and Ross Douglas (RB, Avon).

Defensive Player of the Year: Jimmy Hessel (LB, Avon Lake).

Coach of the Year: Dave Dlugosz (Avon Lake). The retiring coach is also receiving the Northeast Ohio Coaches Service Award.


Bob Gain Cup: Kent State.

Most Valuable Players: Ryan O'Rourke, QB, Baldwin Wallace/Avon; Adam Watson, DE, Case Western Reserve/Mentor; Josh Peacock, DB, Hiram/Carson (Nev.); Mark Myers, QB, John Carroll/St. Ignatius; Taylor Leppla, DE, Lake Erie/Cambridge; Antonio Tate, OT, Mount Union/Villa Angela-St. Joseph; Pedro Powell, RB, Notre Dame College/Lakota East; and Clay Eaton, DE, Oberlin/Van Buren.


Ra'mone Jackson and Nikki Jackson (termite, ages 6-8).

George Chambers Jr. and DaQuan Carter (midget, ages 9-11).

David Clark and Jaylin Boyd (pee wee, ages 12-13).

Emir Hull (bantamweight).


Justin Szabo, a Garfield Heights lineman who was diagnosed with leukemia days after the 2011 football season and returned to the starting lineup in Week 2 after undergoing intensive chemotherapy.

Original Source: