National Football Foundation event on March 4 will honor pro, college and high school stars

2/20/2014 12:48pm By Northeast Ohio Media Group high school sports staff

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Browns legends Doug Dieken and Greg Pruitt will be among those honored March 4 during the Northeastern Ohio Chapter of the National Football Foundation's 26th annual scholar athlete awards banquet.

The event, in conjunction with Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities, begins at 5:30 p.m. with a reception followed by dinner at 6:30 inside the LaCentre Banquet Facility, 25777 Detroit Road, Westlake.

Several local college and high school athletes and other notable figures will be honored during the ceremony. Dieken, will receive the Distinguished American Award, while Pruitt, will take home the Dino Lucarelli Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other honorees include University of Mount Union coach Vince Kehres, who will receive the Lee Tressel College Coach of the Year award, presented by Jim Tressel.

Former Sun Newspaper sportswriter Pete Gaughan will receive the Ohio Sportswriter of the Year Award in memory of Chuck Heaton, Bill Nichols and Dick Zunt.

Dieken, a radio color analyst for Browns gameday broadcasts, is a former offensive tackle who played 14 seasons with the team.

Pruitt, a former running back was selected to five Pro Bowls, including four as a member of the Browns.

Kehres led the Purple Raiders to their 22nd consecutive Ohio Athletic Conference crown (25th overall) and a 17th appearance in the national title game. His 14 wins is the most for a first-year football coach in school history.

Meanwhile, the event will honor a number of local college and high school football scholar-athletes.

Postgraduate award winners

Dee Frieson, University of Akron; Keith Dingler, Ashland University; Zack Barley, Baldwin Wallace University; Scott Campbell, Case Western Reserve University; Matt Feeney, John Carroll University; Nate Vance, Kent State University; Mike Maier, University of Mount Union; Brian Harp, Notre Dame College; Zach Kisley, Oberlin College; Andrew Roy, Walsh University; Matt Reeder, College of Wooster; Kurt Hess, Youngstown State University;

Lee Tressel Ohio College Coach of the Year

Vince Kehres, University of Mount Union

Bob Gain Collegiate Cup

University of Mount Union

Joe Fogg Memorial Award

Kevin Burke, University of Mount Union

College Assistant Coach of the Year

Shane Montgomery, Youngstown State University

High School Scholar-Athlete Winners

Ben Oxley, Avon Lake; Julio Stevens, Beachwood; Nicholas DiGeronimo, Benedictine; Jay Rose, Brecksville-Broadview Heights; Christian Petek, Buckeye; Mark Handel; Cardinal Mooney; D’Andre Bearden-Brooks, Cleveland Heights; Bruce Kinsey, Highland; Ben Hart, Hudson; Ryan Loncar, Kirtland; Ben Bruening, Madison; Hutch Blackstone, Mansfield; Justin McMahon, Mentor; Brad Novak, North Olmsted; Max Wolfgang, Salem; Daniel Lentz, St. Edward; Patrick Riley, St. Edward; Jim Byrne, St. Ignatius; Derek Whiddon, St. Vincent-St. Mary; Andrew Dorogi, University School; Mike Knoll, Walsh Jesuit; Kent Axcell, Westlake.

High School Coach of the Year

Dan Boarman, St. Vincent-St. Mary

Tiger LaVerde, Kirtland

Ron Stoops Assistant Coach of the Year

Cecil Shorts Jr., Brush

Inspiration Award

Paul Yeager, Avon

Lou Groza Award

Ryan Loncar, Kirtland

Bobby Brown Officials Award

Bob Moran

Ohio Sportswriter of the Year

Pete Gaughan

Original Source: