BW’s Barley to Speak at NFF/ CTCC Dinner on March 4

BEREA, OHIO (2/25/2014) -- Baldwin Wallace University senior Capital One first-team Academic All-America safety Zack Barley (Hudson) has been chosen to be the Respondent for all of the National Football Foundation Scholar-Athletes at the 2014 NFF/ Cleveland Touchdown Club Charities annual awards banquet on March 4 at the LaCentre Banquet Facility in Westlake.

Barley, a psychology major with a 3.86 grade point average, is one of 12 scholar-athletes chosen by the Northeast Ohio Chapter of the NFF. He will speak to the responsibility and opportunity to be a leader both on and off the field of play.

"We are extremely pleased that the National Football Foundation selected Zack to speak of behalf of the scholar-athletes," said 12th-year Yellow Jacket Head Coach John Snell. "Zack was a team captain this year and was a leader in our football program and on our campus for the past four years. He is well-deserving of this honor and we are very proud of him."

Barley played four years of football (2010-2013) and was a key three-year varsity contributor at safety and earned three varsity letters. In addition to serving as a captain, he helped the Yellow Jackets to compile a 28-12 record during his four seasons in the Brown & Gold.

Individually, Barley played in 29 career games, made 101 tackles, including a career-high 52 as a junior, intercepted three passes and had 14 total pass breakups. He also was a two-time Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference selection.

On campus, Barley was a member of the Student Athletic Advisory Committee and the Pre-Med/ Neuroscience Club. He also was a member of the Dean's List, Alpha Lambda, Chi Alpha Sigma and Dayton C. Miller honor societies, and select5ed as a Jacket Scholar.

"More than his efforts on the field, Zack was a leader in the classroom, at study table, in the lockerroom and at practice," said Snell. "He was well-respected by everyone in our program from the student-athletes to the parents to the coaching staff."

Additionally, the NFF/ CTCC event will honor a number of local high school, college and professional athletes as well as media and support personnel. The event begins with areception at 5:30 p.m., dinner is at 6:30 p.m. and the program begins at 7:30 p.m. If you are interested in attending the dinner, please contact Erin Dengler by telephone at 440-788-7472 and e-mail at Tickets are $50 each and $500 for a table of 10.

In addition, former Cleveland Browns Doug Dieken and Greg Pruitt will receive the Distinguished American and Dino Lucarellu Lifetime Achievement awards, respectively. Also, former The Ohio State University and Youngstown State University coach and current University of Akron Vice President Jim Tressel will present the University of Mount Union Head Coach Vince Kehres with the Lee Tressel College Coach of the Year award. And lastly, former Sun Newspapers sportswriter Pete Gaughan will be awarded the Ohio Sportswriter of the Year award in honor of Cleveland sportswriting legends Chuck Heaton, Bill Nichols and Dick Zunt.

FOR MORE BW SPORTS INFORMATION, please contact Sports Information Director Kevin Ruple by telephone at 440-826-2327 and e-mail at or Assistant SID Jeff Miller by phone at 440-826-2780 and email at Fans can access the latest BW athletics information at and we invite you to join us on Facebook at and Twitter at

Baldwin Wallace University Zack Barley

Original Source: